BLESSED SACRAMENT CHAPEL
Built in 1947, The Blessed Sacrament Chapel sits on the footings of the original Carmel Mission that fell in the early 1880’s. In fact, the remnants of the original adobe walls of the east wing were incorporated into the building visitors see today. According to Mission records, the original structure was used as a hostel for guests and also functioned as the blacksmith and carpentry shop through the early life at the Mission. The weathered adobe wall on the Chapel’s east side is thought to be all that remained of the blacksmith’s shop located there. Downie, during his work, intentionally left the adobe wall exposed so it could be viewed as an example of early Central Coast architecture.
While smaller than the Basilica, the Blessed Sacrament Chapel is breathtaking in its own right thanks to the beams overhead and a beautiful painting on two hinged panels depicting the 12 Apostles. This diptych, which can be closed like a book, was donated to the Mission from Northern Europe. Today, the Chapel offers daily mass and smaller liturgical services.
The restoration plans for the Blessed Sacrament Chapel include a seismic retrofit, to be sure this important structure remains standing in the event of a large earthquake, as well as much-needed infrastructure upgrades and better accessibility for all visitors.
For information on how you can help, please contact the Foundation office at (831) 624-3261 or email email@example.com.
Blessed Sacrament Chapel construction, 1947
Ruminants of the original Adobe walls
Inside the structurally unsound Chapel